crew overview

We have 15 crews who signed up for the rally. We’ve used a website and blog, as well as a Facebook page to interact with our pilots and followers. However, due to the political troubles in Turkey in the weeks prior to the departure of the rally, we noticed that 5 crews did not show up and 1 crew canceled due to technical problems. All by all, we had 9 crews who flew into Georgia. Some 10 persons flew to Georgia by regular airline. All together, we had a group of some 44 people.

The following planes participated at the 2016 rally
Luxembourg LX-AIX C182
Luxembourg LX-AVS Piper Saratoga PA32T
Luxembourg LX-AIE C172SP
Turkey TC-UTH Flight design CTLS
United Kingdom G-UILT Cessna 303
Germany D-ELAI Flight Design CTSL
Lithuania F-HASD Cirrus SR22
Austria D-EWGA Flight Design CTLS
Poland SP-AVI Cirrus SR20
Turkey TC-MCM Cessna Skylane (till Batumi)
Turkey TC-EST Socata TB-21 (till Ordu Giresun airfield)

Political dimension

The rally shows the clear advantages that the Schengen agreements has brought to aviation. People sometimes take it for granted. Travelling outside of the “Schengen area” was like returning in time as we have been losing many hours with customs. The red tape we encountered outside of the Schengen area was quite disturbing. Schengen is an absolute benefit for European pilots.

Mike Kornev, Romain Fouarge, Peter Sodermans, Guido Peterzelka, Jean Birgen, Yves Federspiel, Minister Robert Goebbels who was one of the Schengen “signatures”

Our international organisation team

A multifunctional international organization team “The Magnificient seven” has been put together to prepare and coordinate the MEMORIAL HANS GUTMANN TOURIST RALLY FLIGHT GEORGIA 2016

1. Jean Birgen, President 2016 rally and FAI-GAC adviser

2. Peter Sodermans, Secretary General 2016 rally

3. Mike Kornev, flight planning and navigation

4. Artem Kirillov, project manager

5. Turgut Kulacoglu, advisory board member for Turkey relate affairs

6. Nikoloz Tsiklauri, advisory board member for Georgia related affairs

7. Amiran Ivanidze, advisory board member for tourism affairs in Georgia

Mike Kornve and Artem Kirillov